

Official Name : Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.

Government Type : Republic

Location : Latitude 5° 55. to 9° 50. North, Longitude

79° 42. to 81° 52., 650km north of the equator.

Dimensions : 430km North to South, 225km East to West.

Currency (code) : Sri Lankan Rupee (LKR)

Administrative Capital : Sri Jayewardenepura

Commercial Capital : Colombo

Highest Mountain : Pidurutalagala, 2,524m.
Highest Waterfall : Bambarakanda, 263m.

Population Density : 309 people per sq km Literacy Rate : Female 87.9 Male 92.5

Ethnic Groups : Sinhalese 73.8%, Sri Lankan Moors 7.2%, Indian Tamil 4.6%, Sri Lankan

Tamil 3.9%, other 0.5%, unspecified 10% (2001 census).

Languages : Sinhala (official and national language) 74%, Tamil (national language)

18%, other 8%

Note: English (a link language commonly) is used in government and

spoken competently by about 10% of the population.

Religion : Buddhist 69.1%, Muslim 7.6%, Hindu 7.1%, Christian 6.2%, unspecified 10%

(2001 census).

Time Zone : Sri Lanka Standard Time is five and a half hours ahead of GMT.

(Allowance should be made for summer-time changes in Europe.).

International Dialling : +94

Electricity : 230. 240 volts, 50 cycles AC. If you travel with a laptop computer bring

a stabilizer.